Classification of Tumor Radiosensitivity

 Classification of Tumor Radiosensitivity
Classification of Tumor Radiosensitivity

Classification of tumor radiosensitivity is based on histology and divided into radiosensitive and radioresistant tumors based on their response to conventionally fractionated radiotherapy.

Radiosensitive tumors include:

  • Lymphoma
  • Myeloma
  • Seminoma

Radioresistant tumors include:

  • Renal cell 
  • Melanoma
  • Thyroid
  • Colorectal

Radioresistant tumors require stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT) for durable control.

Many of the tumors with intermediated radio sensitivity benefit from SBRT to provide long term control.