previous page: 4/8 next

Anterolateral approach

The lower leg has four compartments.Compartments

The lower leg has four compartments:

  • Anterior
  • Lateral
  • Deep posterior
  • Superficial posterior

The anterior compartment has three muscles and one main artery and nerve: Tibialis anterior, extensor hallucis longus, extensor digitorum longus; the anterior tibial artery and deep peroneal nerve.
The lateral compartment has two muscles and one nerve. The muscles are the peroneus longus and brevis and the superficial peroneal nerve.
The deep posterior compartment has three muscles and two arteries and one nerve: The muscles are the tibialis posterior, the flexor hallucis longus and the flexor digitorum longus. It also has the peroneal artery and the posterior tibial artery as well as the tibial nerve.
The superficial posterior compartment has just two muscles in it: The gastrocnemis and soleus muscles and the sural nerve.